Park of Villa Negrotto Cambiaso in Arenzano
via Sauli Pallavicino, 39 - 16011 Arenzano (GE)
Telefono: 010 913 8201-301-316
Fax: 010 913 82 22
La villa La villa La villa La villa La villa La villa La villa La villa La villa La villa

Going along the main road that Villa Negrotto Cambiaso of Arenzano looks onto, your eyes are immediately enraptured by the vision of the splendid conservatory in Liberty style, perfectly preserved in its original splendour. Inaugurated in 1931 under the desire of Marchioness Matilde Negrotto Cambiaso, it is the work of the architect Lamberto Cusani who took his inspiration from 19th century French and English examples of conservatories, which were made of glass and iron.

Starting from the conservatory you can visit the garden, the work of architect Luigi Rovelli who boasts many important projects in Liguria, such as the Park of Villa Brignole Sale Duchessa di Galliera in Genova Voltri. In 1880 the Marchioness Luisa Sauli Pallavicino commissioned Rovelli to restructure the villa; he gave it the aspect of a turreted castle and, following the characteristics of an English garden, he introduced water in the forms of a lake, stream and waterfall, creating small declining ponds and giving the park a more natural aspect.

The garden adds a notable botanical value to the architectural-composition value. It contains some species that are uncommon or even rare for Ligurian parks. Different examples have reached majestic sizes and in the lower part of the garden the large Lebanon cedar is a true plant monument.
The territory is part of the Regional Park of Beigua, a transit area for migratory species; this is why the garden also has examples of peacocks and other species of avifauna.

A little bit of history

In the 16th century the Pallavicino family purchased a vast property in Arenzano and built their villa, encompassing a tower of Medieval origin. At the start of the 19th century, the vegetable gardens were transformed into a park following the project of the Swiss engineer Ippolito Cremona.

Only in 1880 however did the park transformation become radical, when the owner of the time, Marchioness Luisa Sauli Pallavicino, decided to renovate the villa and transformed its surrounding area into a pleasant garden, following the elaborate project of Architect Luigi Rovelli.
Following fashion and the taste of the time, the building was given the aspect of a turreted castle surrounded by a large park designed following the criteria of an English garden, therefore characterised by large areas of grass with dividing vegetation, winding tracks and the insertion of numerous features that were characteristic of the garden style used, such as grottoes, pavilions, and water features in a natural form.

The conservatory with monumental forms of iron and glass, designed by the architect Lamberto Cusani, was inaugurated in 1931. The villa, which became municipal property in 1979, is now the headquarters of the Town Hall and the park has been opened to the public.

The intervention

Its use as a public park and the considerable economic resources needed for maintaining it have caused the quality of the park to slowly decline and become partially denaturalised.

With the development of the natural and cultural resources of Liguria project (Level 4 of the ROP ERDF 2007-2013), the aim is to restore the park trails and the decorative features, intervene on the greenery in order to obtain biological balance and formal harmony in respect of the original layout of the garden and its development phases.
The intention is also to restore the regulation and collection of precipitation by laying pipes to create an underground network and build wells and storm drains, in order to render the irrigation system self-sufficient and save resources.

Parco Negrotto Cambiaso is inserted in the regional theme network of gardens that can be visited in Liguria, called “Un mare di giardini” (An ocean of gardens), which aims at promoting both publicly and privately owned historical and modern gardens.
The renovation and protection of part of an important historical and environmental resource like this one that is well-inserted in the urban nucleus not only improves the use of the asset, but also the quality of the usability.
This makes it possible, therefore, to develop new activities which, in respect of the asset, can add value to the touristic offer and give life to new resources that are useful for its maintenance.


The headland of Capo San Martino marks the wide bay in the west in which the town rises. Pine forests, beech forests and Mediterranean maquis cover a territory that is characterised by its nearness to the Apennine ridge, and which reaches the point closest to the sea here: it is therefore easy to find glimpses of landscapes that are worth an excursion, such as those that Mounts Reiza (1000 m), Rama (1148) and Argentea (1082) offer.

The Sanctuary “Bambino di Praga” boasts a tradition of popular devotion that only a few other places in Liguria have; nearby are the 18th century Olivette sanctuary and the 17th century church of Santi Nazario and Celso, built on the site of a previous Capuchin convent with the S. Chiara oratory alongside.


Each spring, at the end of April the Municipality of Arenzano organises Florarte in the monumental conservatory. This fascinating environment hosts a special and unrepeatable duo: art and flowers.

The works of a maestro in art to whom the exhibition is dedicated, and those of the other guest artists, are presented to visitors flanked by splendid flower compositions inspired by the works themselves.
The combination of these two different forms of art gives life, every year, to a new and always surprising event.

Nota: Liguria Heritage freely offers services and technological tools but accepts no responsibility for entrance fees to the sites nor their direct management. Please refer to the individuals owners and managers regarding the implementation or changes to entry times, conditions of use and accessibility of the various sites.